Great Places

A throwback to the short-lived days of my original online journal, off+away. A celebration of travel, growing, and learning – because no one is ever too old for Dr. Seuss…

 

***

Congratulations!
Today is your day.
You’re off to Great Places!
You’re off and away!

You have brains in your head.
You have feet in your shoes.
You can steer yourself
Any direction you choose.

I have a memory of my dad giving my brother and me each a copy of Oh, the Places You’ll Go! as little kids. A feeling of reverence is attached to this memory: the story wasn’t another paperback to read a handful of times before having its pages shredded and becoming my new favourite colouring book. I thought it meant something, it was intended as a message, a blessing, a hope. Go forth, grow, live, be yourself, be outstanding, and -of course – travel.

Memories of course fade with time, and my own head is quite possibly lying to me: I was certainly unaware of philosophical meaning in the simple words. Regardless, this message is imprinted to my psyche.

 

***

IMG_0040.JPG

IMG_0187.JPG

Now I am off seeing Great Places, experiencing new cultures, and constantly learning. One conviction that has clearly reaffirmed itself throughout this trip is the importance of experiences like these. Travel encompasses education, self-growth, and pleasure equally, making it both profitable and enjoyable; furthermore, it is essential in discovering, understanding, and accepting the world’s diversity. So do it; travel as often and as far as possible, and do so with an open heart. It will make you a better person and give you a more vibrant life.

IMG_0186.JPG

 

IMG_0188.JPG

IMG_0189.JPG

/Morgan

All images are the propery of Morgan Alexander.

Excerpt from Oh, The Places You’ll Go!, Random House 1990.

Leave a Reply

